Caddo Parish CourthouseThe Caddo Parish Courthouse dates back to 1926 and is set on approximately 2.5 acres. Two previous Courthouses have stood on this on this location; one of which was used as the State Capital of Louisiana during the time of the Civil War. The present Courthouse, built in 1926, was renovated in the 1970's. On April 21, 1928 it was entirely free of debt. The Courthouse is listed in the National Register of Historic Places.
The landscape consists of oak trees, which were donated by Judge Thomas Fletcher Bell in the late 1800's. A plaque memorializing Judge Bell's donation of the trees sits in the Courthouse Square on the Milam Street side. Special care is taken to ensure the preservation of these historic trees. Other landscaping includes shrubs of all manner and seasonal plants. Benches are available in the Courthouse Square for the enjoyment of employees as well as the public. On the Texas Street side of the Courthouse Square is the Forty-Six Confederate Veterans Reunion Monument. This monument commemorates the soldiers who lost their lives during the Civil War. A very interesting fact about the land on which this monument sits is that it does not belong to the Commission but to the Daughters of the Confederacy. However, this small piece of land is surrounded by the Courthouse Square.
The foyer, with its Rosatta marble walls, is the most impressive feature of the Courthouse. The floors are laid in alternating squares of pink and gray Tennessee marble with a border of Belgian black marble. The foyer is accented with bronze lamps hanging gracefully from the ceiling and bronze torches lining the marble walls. The design of these exquisite lamps is entirely original. These bronze and marble touches can be found through-out the Courthouse.
Many people come to see the rich beauty and history found in this great monument. Some have come to view the superior architectural work of the Courthouse and have imitated its design in other buildings. The Courthouse Square, with its picturesque landscape, and the Courthouse, with its magnificent structure, stand as a historical monument in the midst of Downtown Shreveport.
To arrange a tour of our Historic Courthouse for your group or organization you may contact Tammy Patterson at (318) 226-6801.
HoursMajority of the hours of departments are from 8:00 a.m. to 4:45 p.m.
Calendar of Events
|Shreve Town Ghost Walk|